Office of the Dean Biographies

Carmita ColemanCarmita A. Coleman, PharmD is the Interim Dean and Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice at the Chicago State University College of Pharmacy (CSU-COP).

Dr. Coleman holds a bachelors degree in chemistry from the University of New Orleans, a Doctor of Pharmacy degree with honors from Xavier University of Louisiana, and has recently completed a Masters of Art in Administration with Distinction from the University of the Incarnate Word. Dr. Coleman completed a Pharmacy Practice Residency at Hermann Hospital in Houston, Texas.

In 1999, Dr. Coleman joined the faculty as Assistant Professor, and later Director of Continuing Professional Education, at Hampton University School of Pharmacy. There, she developed and taught a variety of courses, including the integrated components of Drug and Disease Management. She then went on to help establish a new school of pharmacy at the University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio, Texas. In 2005, she joined as Assistant Dean in the Office of Student Affairs and received tenure and promotion to Associate Professor.

She currently serves as the National Executive Director for the Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA), the nation’s premier professional organization for minority pharmacists. She has held this position since 2006. Under her tutelage, the organization has seen substantial membership growth and professional impact.

Her research interests include patient and student outcomes, health disparities, and cardiovascular and women’s health.


Founding Dean and Dean Emeritus

David J. Slatkin, Ph.D. R.Ph. is Founding Dean and Dean Emeritus of the Chicago State University College of Pharmacy (CSU-COP).  He provided the leadership in establishing his third college of pharmacy.  Previously, he served as Founding Dean and Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the Midwestern University College of Pharmacy - Glendale.  He served in that capacity since the college's founding in 1998.  Dr. Slatkin originally joined Midwestern University (MWU) in 1991 as Founding Dean of the Chicago College of Pharmacy.  Prior to joining MWU, he served as Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Director of Graduate Programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy.

Born in Brooklyn, NY and graduated from Scarsdale High School, Dr. Slatkin holds Bachelors Degrees from Wayne State University, Detroit (1966 in Chemistry) and Mercer University's Southern School of Pharmacy, Atlanta (1968) and the M.S. (1971) and Ph.D. (1972) degrees from the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy.  From 1972 to 1973, he taught at the Northeast Louisiana University School of Pharmacy.  From 1973 until 1991, he served on the Faculty of the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy. He was the recipient of the Merck Award from Mercer University and was an American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education - Edwin Leigh Newcomb Memorial Fellow at the University of Mississippi.

His research interests encompassed several areas within Pharmacognosy. He has authored over eighty scientific publications, served as a reviewer for the Journal of Natural Products and Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences and has been the major advisor for twelve graduate students.  He is a member of Rho Chi Honorary Society and Phi Delta Chi Pharmacy Fraternity.  He has been very active in many professional and scientific organizations, including serving as Treasurer of the American Society of Pharmacognosy since 1981. In 1999, Dr. Slatkin was selected by American Pharmacist magazine as one of the 50 Most Influential Pharmacists in the US.



Ms. Yolanda Solarte is the Office Administrator to the Dean at Chicago State University (CSU-COP).  Ms. Solarte also serves as the central person to the Departments of Pharmacy Academic Affairs and the Office of Pharmacy Development Affairs.   She provides administrative support for the departments.   Ms. Solarte has served the College in this position since March 2007.  Prior to this position, Ms. Solarte served as Administrative Secretary in the Office of the President for 17 years.  Ms. Solarte comes to us with educational and corporate work experience.


Tracie WilliamsTracie Williams is the Budget and Development Coordinator at Chicago State University College of Pharmacy (CSU-COP). Ms. Williams is the central point of contact for the Office of Student Affairs, providing administrative support for the department. Ms. Williams joined the department in November 2015. She brings over 20 years of corporate experience to the department, inclusive of over 5 years of experience as a finance manager in the areas of order processing, invoice processing, contract audit, and sales support. Her corporate experience also includes account management, B2B sales, accounts receivable, credit and collections, and customer service.