NACDS Foundation Announces 2011 Pharmacy Student Scholarship Recipients

Foundation Awards \$190,000 in Academic Awards to 58 Pharmacy School Students

Alexandria, Va. – The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation announces the 2011 recipients of the Pharmacy Student Scholarship Awards. In 2011, the Foundation awarded 58 scholarships – totaling \$190,000 – to pharmacy schools representing 42 colleges and schools of pharmacy.

The NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Student Scholarship Program identifies and recognizes the next generation of pharmacy leaders during their pursuit of academic success and educational goals.

"These students exemplify one of the key missions of the NACDS Foundation in supporting continuing education programs that focus on patient-centered care in the community pharmacy setting," said NACDS Foundation President Kathleen Jaeger. "As the future of pharmacy, we applaud these students for their academic accomplishments, and are delighted to honor these exceptional students with scholarships to assist them in continuing their pharmacy education."

Among the 2011 recipients of the NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Student Scholarship Awards, eight exceptional students were chosen to receive named-scholarships that honor distinguished pharmacy leaders and companies that share the NACDS Foundation's commitment to education, research and charitable work.

Scott Beeman of Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and Sarah Thune of Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences received the Leonard J. DeMino Pharmacy Student Scholarships; Kyle Burcher of the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy and Natasha Petry of North Dakota State University College of Pharmacy, Nursing and Allied Sciences received the Edmond Fougera Scholarships; Laurin Dixon of the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy and Laura Lourenco of the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences - Boston Campus received the Taro Research Foundation Scholarships; Logan Fiscus of the St. Louis College of Pharmacy and Louchard Lamothe of Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy received the Teva Pharmaceuticals Robert J. Bolger Scholarships.

To view a full list of the pharmacy scholarship winners, please click here

http://echo4.bluehornet.com/ct/14620841:17522255546:m:1:1166969968:F6583C43D04862D6 F3066CAD9FE0B985:r

The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable organization that serves as the education, research and charitable affiliate of NACDS. The NACDS Foundation seeks to improve the health and wellness of the people in America. It utilizes education, research, and charitable involvement to help people improve their health and quality of life through an understanding of medication therapy and the importance of taking medications appropriately. For more information, please visit www.NACDSFoundation.org

http://echo4.bluehornet.com/ct/14620842:17522255546:m:1:1166969968:F6583C43D04862D6F3066CA D9FE0B985:r