Composition of the Committee

The GEC is a university-wide committee that is composed of voting members who are tenured/tenure-track faculty and ex-officio members representing specific administrative and faculty positions that have responsibilities for the general education curriculum (see bylaws for exact composition). The GEC's voting members are chosen by an election, and voting members serve a three-year term (see bylaws for election procedures).


Voting Members
A. By 3-Year Term

Fall 2014 – Spring 2017
Christine Ohale (CAS – Humanities (English))
Sarah Buck (COE)
**vacant (CHSc) Open
**vacant (COB) Open
Joanna Kolendo (Library)

Fall 2015 – Spring 2018
**vacant (CAS – Math/Nat. Sci.) Open
Arthur Redman (CAS – Social Sciences)
**vacant (CHSc) Open
Evelyne Delgado-Norris (Foreign Languages)
Joni Jackson (COB)

Fall 2016 – Spring 2019
Mark Smith (CAS – Humanities)
Douglas Lia (COE) (interim appointment; election in September 2017)
Tiffany Davis (CAS – Soc Sci) (interim appointment; election in September 2017)
J. Archibald Peters (CAS – Natural Sciences)

** Seat open for SPRING 2017 Nominations and Elections

B. By Area of Representation

Mark Smith
msmith23@csu.eduCAS - Humanities2016 - 2019
Christine Ohale
cohale@csu.eduCAS - Humanities (English)2014 - 2017
Vacant CAS - Math/Nat. Sci. (Math)2015 - 2018
J. Archibald Petersjpeter24@csu.eduCAS - Math/Nat. Sci.2016 - 2019
Arthur Redmanaredman@csu.eduCAS - Social Sciences2015 - 2018
Tiffany Davis (interim)tdavis46@csu.eduCAS – Social Sciences2016 - 2019
Douglas Lia (interim) COE2016 - 2019
Sarah Bucksbuck@csu.eduCOE2014 - 2017
Vacant CHSc2015 - 2018
Vacant CHSc2014 - 2017
Vacant COB2014 - 2017
Joni Jackson
jjacks78@csu.eduCOB2015 - 2018
Evelyne Delgado-Norrisenorris@csu.eduForeign Languages2015 - 2018
Joanna Kolendo (1yr temp)jkolendo@csu.eduLibrary2014-2017

Ex-Officio Members

Angela Hendersonprovost@csu.eduInterim Provost
Satasha Greensgreen34@csu.eduAcademic Affairs
Leroy Jonesljones27@csu.eduInterim Dean of CAS
Aida Abrahaaabraha@csu.eduuInterim Associate Dean of CAS
Omar Headenoheaden@csu.eduInterim Dean of the Honors College
Barbara Director of Teacher Certification
vacant Director of Evaluations
Nellie Maynardnmaynard@csu.eduInterim Dean of Continuing Education & Non-Traditional Degree Programs
Mark Sudeithmsudeith@csu.eduChair of the GEAC
Philip Croncepcronce@csu.eduChair of the UCCC
vacant Faculty Senate Representative
Former Chair of the UGECC

Officers for 2016-2017 (Elected at Meeting on September, 2016)

Chair: Art Redman
Vice-Chair: vacant
Secretary: Sarah Buck