Chicago State University
Committee Membership

The composition of the Chicago State University Institutional Review Board (IRB) is determined by the applicable federal statute (45 CFR 46 §107) where the expertise and experience of the members reflect the type of research activities commonly conducted and reviewed by the IRB. The composition of the committee reflects a diversity of interests including appropriate consideration of the racial, gender and cultural backgrounds of its members. The CSU IRB includes scientists and non-scientists, academics and community representation. The CSU IRB also maintains an active list of consultants who possess the professional competence and expertise necessary to review research activities involving specialized populations including those vulnerable categories of subjects where such expertise is required.

Current IRB Members

Daniel Block, PhD Geography
Crystal Laura, PhD Education
Concetta Williams, Ed.D.  English/Non-Scientist
Corinne Grant Non-Scientist/Community Representative
Sherri Seyfried, ACSW Social Work
Douglas Thomson, PhD Prisoner Representative/Community Representative
Kelly Carroll, PhD Child Representative 
Melanie P. Puglisi, PhD Pharmaceutical Sciences
Rahul Garg, PhD Pharmacy Practice
Crystal Wiley-Brown, MS, MBA  Institutional Review Board

If you are interested in becoming a member of the IRB, please contact the IRB Administrator, Crystal Wiley-Brown, MS, MBA at or 773-995-2405 for more information.